December 2021

So, it’s been a year since writing last. Sorry all but it’s been a busy one!

Medically: I had my final surgery in August to remove the scar tissue from my left (thigh) boob. The scaring had over healed and was causing pain by pressing over the nerves down my left side. So my only option was more surgery. Covid had delayed this but Mr Griffiths got me in. As a surgeon I am sure he wanted to finish off this project! Medical pictures uploaded and of course included lots of bruising and pain. Sleeping in ice packs helped for a few days. But I’ve got used to recovery now and manage well which helps. The family helped me out much more this time which was much appreciated! So after a few weeks off work to recover, a slice through nerves in my left hand adding to it whrn I stupidly tried to catch a falling glass (very ouch) – I was focused and ready to get back on track and back to work. Over the years I’ve found distraction and keeping busy a wonderful coping tool to get through all this. I am now pleased to say that after many many surgeries and lots of my body cut off, moved about and resculptured, I have just been signed off from Plastics! Yay! 6 and a half years of surgery and now I can finally get on with living! I am so grateful to Mr G and his team for looking after me. Having so much cut away and on meds forever will hopefully keep the dreaded C away! I can’t do any more now.

Which brings me to my Tattoo Progress – I will continue to update the tattoo page as this is working progress. And feel free to follow my Instagram too (BrittenTracey). We have currently jumped to my left shoulder as my left chest needs to heal before Josh tattoos for me. Who’d have thought at 50 years I would end up with so many pretty tattoos! I love them and they help me cope with my poor scarred body.

Yes you heard me right! No way did I think I was going to get to 50! How lucky am I? I feel lucky and grateful every single day. Myself and Mr B went away to Norwich for a few days and had a wonderful break – just what we both needed! Kids love the house to themselves too!

Mrs & Mr B!

Nearly 7 years of life with cancer and its been a hell of a journey. But there has also been some wonderful times too – I try and focus on the fun and positive every day but this last year has been particularly hard for my beautiful darling Freya – she has suffered from depression, self harm, suicidal, anxiety, panic attacks and generally a super tough time. But this girl, now nearly 17 has battled through. But she’s accepted help and is getting there. Cancer affects everyone in the family and with Freya everything piled up over the years and manifested – she was just 10 years old when I was at my sickest. But I am sooooo proud of her, don’t you ever give up as you are stronger than you know and getting through this you can cope with anything life throws at you – you have the tools now too x love you x here’s some pics from her prom…. Stunning eh!

Family is everything that matters

Talking of proudness….. My sis has just had her final implants put in. She has new amazing boobies that won’t droop ever! They look great but believe me they don’t feel great. Implants after mastectomy are hard and uncomfortable, they hurt and you can’t lay on your front! But needs must and it’s done, removing her breast tissue has saved her from developing breast cancer as she carries the Palb2 gene. Proud of you for saving yourself sis and coping so well x love you x

Mum is doing amazing too. She has been tolerating her cancer meds well and although the cancer has spread it is under control at the moment and not growing uncontrollably or spreading at the moment . Every few months mum has to be scanned to monitor and this causes us all scanxiety – in fact mum is calmest of us all! She is so brave and still looks after us all even though she is suffering side effects and struggles some days – she is such an inspiration x love you so much mum x

So cancer has affected my family sooooo much. Its nearly 7 years in February since I was first diagnosed and this is the first time I actually feel we can start to get on with our lives and not be surround by cancer stuff. Get back to some sort of new normal. Yes there’s still going to be bad stuff happen but I feel going through all of this has given us all the strength to get through whatever is throw at us. Hey get through cancer and take on the world super hero style!

There is always going to be something as that’s life (currently my poor Phil has been diagnosed with a heart condition affecting his breathing and oxygen so he is undergoing further tests). But we can do this. Luckily our gardening business is going well and being self employed we have flexibility for both of us. So whatever any of you are going through you can do it too. Be brave and stay strong and take one day at a time!

So to sum things up. Yes cancer and illness is shite and there are so much other stuff that comes with it – the affect on us all mentally, forever side effects and pain, strain on whole families and relationships. It’s hard. But there are so many positives too – it makes you realise what is important in life. Appreciate and be grateful for everything and everyone. Don’t waste time – make the most of every moment. Try new stuff! Omg this is addictive as there is just so much to learn and do! And keep smiling through it all if you can!

So I won’t be updating this blog any more but feel free to message me. I have realised that having been through so much myself I can really help others! So ask me anything. I will continue to post my Tattoo Progress on here and on instagram.

Thank you for following, sharing and most of all supporting us all through this hell of a cancer journey xxx so much love to you all xxx

One thought on “December 2021

  1. Thank you Tracey so much for sharing your cancer journey and wish you and your family all the best for the future.You will remain in my thoughts and prayers.
    Love Anne Burzio.xx

    Like

Leave a comment