Thursday 1st October 2015

I can’t believe how the time is flying – next week will be my number 6 Herceptin already – that means only 12 more to go – hopefully! Unfortunately all these drugs will knock my immune system and at the moment I am surrounded by coughing and sickly students. I hadn’t actually thought about this risk. I cannot afford to get poorly as this will delay my treatment. So I am eating to boost my immune system and try to keep healthy!

Lots of people have been asking me about the sort of foods I have been eating. I can’t advise anyone specifically as I’m not a trained nutritionist – I didn’t even do cookery at school! Also, it’s a very individual thing – you all need to do your own specific research into what your body needs. I also have lots of allergies so I have to be careful. The most important thing is BALANCE – make sure your body gets a variety of nutrients to help it work efficiently. At the moment I am eating lots and lots of raw veg – my bloods are good considering but not good enough to withstand treatment over the winter. Lots of spinach and blackcurrants – every day!

One thing for sure is my hair is growing superfast! And it’s curly! Will add a pic soon! It’s definitely a topic of conversation!

We accidentally grew some pumpkins – accidentally meaning the seeds were in my compost and they just grew themselves! So we have 3! Pumpkins are absolutely amazing – full of all those good nutrients – loads of vitamin A (great for the eyes, skin and bones), beta-carotine (meant to be cancer fighting and keep hearts strong – also found in sweet potatoes and carrots – really good for you), Vitamin C (immune boost), Fibre (great for the heart – I need to keep mine super healthy!) Full of so much goodness, the list goes on – check out for yourselves!

We scooped out those nutritious seeds and baked our pumpkin in the oven.  When they were soft we scooped out the middle and mashed up.

Then we made yummy pumpkin and oat cakes.  They don’t look much but they were delicious – didn’t last long in our house!

image   image  imageimage

I adapted the recipe myself to make healthier:

Ingredients:

1/3 cup coconut oil melted ( you could also use olive oil)
1/2 cup maple syrup (or honey)
2 eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup of milk (I used coconut but any is fine)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and any other spices you like
1 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour
1/2 cup of oats
I also added dark chocolate chips and raisins

Heat oven to about 180 degrees.
Grease oven tray (I use silicon so they don’t stick)
Put everything into a bowl and whisk together.
Spoon out into tray
Bake for about 25 minutes or until golden (stick a knife in to test!)

I think with a little adapting we could make some good cookies too, and so healthy and nutritious!

We’ve also been busy picking tomatoes from the garden, beetroot, courgettes, blackberries and sloe berries for Phil’s popular sloe gin – great for sore throats!  Here’s Freya helping him prick them all ready for the freezer.

image image

So being back at work is great but I am so exhausted.  I didn’t realise I would feel so tired and hurt so much – it’s a really deep ache that just doesn’t go and then still the pain from the op too.  If I attempt to run I have to hold the new boob tight! Very painful still!  Although having cancer is like having a disney fastpass when it comes to drugs, I can’t really take anything too strong as I wouldn’t be safe to do anything – driving, speaking, staying awake, cooking etc etc! So I’m trying to just grin and bear it but it’s really hard – I have so much admiration for all those people out there that have to live with long term pain! I am now one of them I think!  Thank you everyone for looking out for me – just couldn’t do this without you all.

So life is as good as I can expect at the moment.  My mind is in a good place which really helps.  I have even allowed myself to start thinking about christmas – although it’s going to be low key this year.  I’ve actually been planning more than a day ahead again too! Not much but a bit!  Earlier on in the year I really didn’t think I’d be seeing another Christmas as I was so poorly but now it’s only 12 weeks to go and by then I’ll be on Herceptin number 9 which is halfway there!  Just really hope all goes to schedule so it doesn’t get delayed – can’t think that far ahead yet.  I did let my mind wander to the idea of a holiday abroad again next year to get some heat in my bones but I find it a bit frustrating we can’t book anything in advance as it needs to be around my treatment plan and ops.  Could be tricky. One step at a time.

I managed to have a lovely swim and catch up with my swim buddies on Wednesday.  The steam room, sauna and hot tub helps me so much.  If I could, I’d go every day! Unfortunately Wednesdays are turning into my ‘crazy busy cram everything in days’ instead of rest days! Will need to change this.  There is just not enough time to do everything! I do have ‘me’ time in the form of sewing club.  My friend, Ulrike, has helped me to finally finish my sewn wallhanging which I started in January! It’s based on the Riddle of Strider from Lord of the Rings.

image image

We’re going to have an exhibition (free entry) in the Con Club in Earls Colne (York Road) on Friday 16th October, 11am-11pm, and Saturday 17th October 11am-4pm.  Hope lots of you can pop along to see our work.  There’ll also be lots of handmade halloween and christmas gifts.  And best of all a chance to win a beautiful handmade quilt in our raffle – pop by if anyone wants to buy some raffle tickets – £1 each.

I also finally managed to go and visit Mary and Dinah – my lovely elderly ladies (both in their 90s I think) who I used to clean for.  I haven’t been able to see them since I was diagnosed and I will never be able to clean for them again.  So I made a surprise visit.  Mary was so happy to see me – we laughed a lot – she’s a beautiful person. We trimmed her budgies beak and he escaped and flew round the room.  So funny!  Dinah loved my short hair – she told us about 6 times how I still looked the same but with different hair! Mary and I giggled more! I love these ladies to bits, next time Kath will need to join us too!

So all plodding along quite well at the moment.  What’s next? Continue with the Herceptin and Tamoxifen, muga scan due November, meet with consultant November, hopefully gene results soon.

Looking forward to this weekend with my sister and all our family.  And on Sunday we have Nathan’s new girlfriend for dinner.  Family times – love them – it’s what’s important! Cancer helps you put everything into perspective!

Leave a Reply

