Thursday 11th April 2019

Happy 14th Birthday Freya!

Today is Freya’s 14th birthday! My children are growing up fast and I feel so lucky to be still here for them. They keep me going x

So a little update….

We had a wonderful much needed holiday in Florida. The warm weather in February really helped me, so would be nice to get away every winter for a bit – we shall see. We had a great time but it was all over so fast….

  

Just a snap shot of some of my favourite pics – take a look at my facebook page for loads more.

Best of all we got to swim with Manatees! OMG! A tick off my bucket list – best ever!

I didn’t have to cook or clean, we ate out every night.  We saw the most amazing beaches and sunsets, wild dolphins and wildlife.  Met Winter and Hope dolphin at Clearwater Marine, went on an airboat, kayaking, lots of swimming.  The family went shooting and shopping – so much shopping – teenagers like shopping!  It was amazing but over far too quick and now it’s back to reality and working to pay off the credit card! ha ha.

I bought some brilliant Breast Cancer trainers out there! Love them!

I’m back working in Learning Support at college, which I enjoy so much.  I am glad I tried the office job but I’m so much happier working with the students and making a difference on the ‘front line’.  I am helping at the Willow Farm in Earls Colne which makes me happy, it helps boost my income in the holidays when I don’t get paid at college so hopefully this combination will work perfectly. At the moment I’m planting up the little tiny seedlings and smiling as I’m potting! Work is good.

Unfortunately I’ve had a lot of hospital stuff going on – scans, checkups, pain management and meetings to discuss my next surgery – which is to sort out the left ‘thigh’ boob.  This was always planned but I’m delaying this until after the summer – I need a break from surgery for a bit as I’m worn out.  The scaring is painful but I’m managing it and it’s not cancer related so no urgency.  The cancer seems to be staying away thankfully – just needs to keep it that way.

Bad news is my bones are deteriorating faster than I thought – I’m gutted as I’m exercising (with my new trainers!) with weights, walking, swimming, eating lots of Vitamin D rich foods (salmon, broccoli, cabbage, spinach, orange juice, cheese, eggs, tuna, yoghurt, cereal, oat milk etc etc), plus I take a bone supplement and Vitamin D (with K) drops.  I’m not happy but it explains why the pain is getting worse.  But hey, just something else I will need to adapt to.  I’m getting used to adapting now and being accelerated to an 80 year old body.

Otherwise all as good as can be and we are just bumbling along. I have booked my next tattoo which is exciting.  I’ll post again with an update then.

Feel free to message me any time and thank you to everyone who continues to support us.  Life after cancer is tougher than anyone tells you – keep on swimming x

Leave a comment